Dates: September 2015 - February/March 2016
Players: Flea, Josh Klinghoffer, Chad Smith, Anthony Kiedis
Additional Performers: Anna Waronker (backing vocals), Elton John (piano), Brian 'Danger Mouse' Burton (synth, organ), Mauro Refosco (percussion), Beverley Chitwood (solo vocal)
Recorded at: Sound Factory, 6357 Selma Ave, Los Angeles, CA
Produced by: Brian 'Danger Mouse' Burton
Engineered by: Kennie Takahasi, Todd Monfalcone
Mixed by: Nigel Godrich (with Samuel Petts-Davies and John Armstrong) — Goodbye Angels (video mix) by Andrew Scheps
Released on: June 17, 2016
Purchase on Amazon


  • The Getaway

  • Dark Necessities

  • We Turn Red

  • The Longest Wave

  • Goodbye Angels

  • Sick Love

  • Go Robot

  • Feasting on the Flowers

  • Detroit

  • This Ticonderoga

  • Encore

  • The Hunter

  • Dreams of a Samurai
    released on the album "The Getaway"

  • Kaly

  • Outer Space
    unreleased, but referred to by Josh in this interview

The band wrote, recorded demos for, and then scrapped around 25-30 songs before they met up with Danger Mouse, re-recording a few of the original songs on the final album. The songs that were written after Danger Mouse got on board are The Getaway, Dark Necessities, We Turn Red, Feasting On The Flowers and The Hunter.